Canning Products

This is the pressure canner I use, the Presto 01781 Pressure Canner and Cooker, 23 qt. I’m quite happy with it and even ordered a second for back up, or in the hopes I get an stove that can handle: two canners running at once.

I bought these jiggle weights for both canners. I prefer having the option of hearing when I’m at the right pressure, and knowing it stays there. Plus, the little dance is cute. It comes with rings so you can get 5, 10, and 15 pounds of pressure.

For flats and lids, I usually get whatever is on sale. Some people are complaining that Ball and other well-known makers of flats and rings have been letting them down. I haven’t found that to be an issue, and have the same luck with the “cheap” sets as with the more expensive ones. I do tighten them down a little more than recommended. There are more expensive flats and rings you can use, but most of them take practice in using them properly. It’s worth a try!

An overall canning tool kit is worth the effort, as well. I keep mine in a bucket, so I don’t have to dig around for them in a utensil drawer. My dream is to someday have a food preservation station in my kitchen. This set comes with measuring spoons, a ladle, funnel, jar lifter, debubbler that doubles as a measuring stick for headspace, tongs, and a jar opener.

For a better chance at opening your jars without bending the flats, allowing you to reuse them, I use this jar opener:

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.